2024 Welcome Letter

Please join us for the twelfth annual meeting of the International School Choice and Reform Conference (ISCRC), a global academic conference that gathers scholars who study various forms of school choice, systemic reform, and educational innovation. This includes scholarship on how school choice is enacted, the mechanisms that structure school choice programs, and both the direct and systemic effects of school choice and reform programs and initiatives.

ISCRC invites researchers with multiple perspectives on these issues to attend our 2024 meeting, which will take place in Madrid, Spain on Jan 4-7, 2024.

Some of the research presented and discussed at this conference might be supportive of various forms of school choice, while other research presented at the conference will have a more critical stance. Some participants favor one form of choice while opposing other forms of choice. Conference participants are connected by the goal of using high-quality research to shed light on how school choice and reform policies play out when implemented.

From the graduate student to the senior scholar level, the ISCRC offers a unique opportunity for school choice researchers to gather in small groups. We accomplish this by including in the registration fee multiple meal and reception opportunities for participants to spend time together.

The ISCRC has grown into an important forum for the examination of diverse forms of education, including alternatives and reforms to district-run, traditional public schools. Its primary goal is to act as a means whereby scholars and practitioners can come together in small groups to debate and discover unanswered questions about school choice and reform and to identify areas of possible collaboration.

We are looking forward to connecting with you in Madrid!

Anna J. Egalite, Conference Chair, and Angela Dills, Conference Co-Chair



KERI HUNTER, Executive Director 2024 ISCRC, Stand Together Trust

DREW CATT, Executive Director 2025 ISCRC, EdChoice

BENJAMIN SCAFIDI, Kennesaw State University

DEANI VAN PELT, Edvance Christian Schools Association

ANGELA DILLS, Western Carolina University

TRIIN LAURI, Tallinn University School of Governance

NINA BUCHANAN, University of Hawai’i

ROBERT MARANTO, University of Arkansas

RODRIGO MELO, Universidad Católica Portuguesa

GARY MIRON, Western Michigan University

AARON SAIGER, Fordham University

PATRICK WOLF, University of Arkansas

DANY SHAKEEL, University of Buckingham

ERIC WEARNE, Kennesaw State University

HEIDI HOLMES, Brigham Young University

TOMMASO AGASISTI, Politecnico di Milano

TIM WEEKES, Calsoyas Group

ANNA EGALITE, North Carolina State University